Network Classes

Primarily there are 3 types of Network Classes viz:

1.    Class A

2.    Class B

3.    Class C

In case of Class A network, each consistent network will have a number of hosts with very few numbers of consistent networks.

In case of Class B network, there are moderate numbers of networks each with moderate number of hosts.

In case of Class C network, there are a large number of networks each having very less number of hosts.

As discussed earlier, an IP address is of 2 bit length and each IP address is divided into 2 parts viz:

1.    Net ID and

2.    Host ID

For a class-A IP address, as there is very less number of networks but each with more number of host’s one octet is used for netID and 3 octets are used for HostID.

For a class-B IP address, as there are moderate number of networks as well hosts, two octets are used each for net ID and host ID.

For a class-C IP address, as there are more number of networks each with less number of hosts net ID is of 3 octets length and host ID is of one octet length.

The syntax of class A, B, C IP address is shown below.

Network Classes

Latest Articles

Average Acceleration Calculator

Average acceleration is the object's change in speed for a specific given time period. ...

Free Fall Calculator

When an object falls into the ground due to planet's own gravitational force is known a...


In Mathematics, the permutation can be explained as the arrangement of objects in a particular order. It is an ordered...

Perimeter of Rectangle

A rectangle can be explained as a 4-sided quadrilateral which contains equal opposite sides. In a rectangle

Perimeter of Triangle

A three sided polygon which has three vertices and three angles is called a triangle. Equilateral triangle...